Support-less, robot-based, additive manufacturing process

FreeD Printing technology offers a robot-based 3D printing process based on the fused layer modelling process. By guiding the process head with a six-axis industrial robot, the process head can be oriented in comparison to today’s additive manufacturing systems. This allows modeling with completely new modeling strategies that deviate from today’s modeling paradigm with planar and horizontally oriented layers.

Technology

New and innovative model building strategy enables modeling in additive manufacturing (3D printing) with free-form modeling layers for model building. For this purpose, a planning software is being developed that calculates the process paths in a manner comparable to conventional slicing programs, but taking into account the orientation of the process head by the robot that is possible with the system. With the development of appropriate modelling strategies it is possible to model components with overhangs, which can be produced without the otherwise necessary support structures. In addition, material can be applied to existing, free-formed surfaces and the direction of the strand can be influenced, for example to increase the strength of components.
The procedure offers the following essential advantages, which increase the chances of using additive manufacturing methods in industrial production processes:

  • Reduction of the planning process and construction time
  • Savings in production materials
  • No post-processing to remove the support structures
  • Adding material to existing surfaces
  • Influencing the strand direction for model building
  • Flexible and large installation space according to the working range of the robot

Trade Fair Presentations

Rapid.Tech 2018

Almost 5,000 guests came to Messe Erfurt to find out about innovations in industrial and creative 3D printing at Rapid.Tech in June 2018. Among the exhibitors was a stand from the FreeD Printing project of the Chair for Production Systems at the Ruhr University Bochum.

formnext 2018

During the four days of the fair, formnext 2018 was the guiding star of global additive manufacturing and modern production technologies. With 632 exhibitors from 32 nations, Formnext 2018 also registered a record result. A joint stand of Ruhrsource, ThinkIng and FreeD Printing, organized by the Wirtschaftsentwicklung Bochum, was part of the event.

formnext 2019

Also in 2019 FreeD Printing was represented at the world’s leading trade fair formnext from 19-22.11.2019 in Frankfurt am Main. The latest state of the art in robot-based additive manufacturing technology was presented. In interesting and detailed conversations contacts to application partners in different branches of industry could be established.

ruhrSUMMIT 2020

Awards

Inventor Award 2017

Three invention disclosures of the year 2016 were honoured at the Inventor Award Ceremony of the Ruhr University Bochum. Among them was the invention report “Supportless multi-axis extrusion process for additive production” by Benjamin Johnen, Michael Rieger and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Kuhlenkötter.

News article of the Ruhr-University Bochum from November 20, 2017

ERCIS Launch Pad 2017

At the 10th ERCIS Launch Pad, Free-D Printing won the prize for the business concept with the best scientific foundation, which was evaluated and awarded by researchers from WWU Münster together with the jury.

ERCIS Launch Pad 2017 Website

1st place start2grow

On June 19, 2020, FreeD Printing was awarded first place at the pitch event of the start2grow start-up competition, held by the Dortmund Economic Development Agency. The team prevailed against 76 other teams.

Award winner start2grow 2020

Team

Dipl.-Ing.
Michael Rieger

Founder’s Scholarship
at the Chair of Production Systems
of the Ruhr University Bochum
(+49)234-32 24568

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Inf.
Benjamin Johnen

Founder’s Scholarship
at the Chair of Production Systems
of the Ruhr University Bochum
(+49)234-32 24592

B.Sc.
Lennard Rath

Founder’s Scholarship
at the Chair of Production Systems
of the Ruhr University Bochum
(+49)234-32 28088

Funding

Contact us

ADDRESS
FreeD Printing GmbH i. Gr.
Carlo-Schmid-Allee 3
44263 Dortmund

E-MAIL
mail@freedprinting.de

PHONE
+49 231 4 77 30-71 02

Stützmaterialloses, roboterbasiertes, additives Fertigungsverfahren

Die Technologie Free-D Printing bietet ein roboterbasiertes 3D-Druckverfahren auf Basis des Fused-Layer Modelling Prozesses. Durch die Führung des Prozesskopfes mit einem sechsachsigen Industrieroboter kann im Vergleich zu heutigen additiven Fertigungssystemen der Prozesskopf orientiert werden. Dadurch wird die Modellierung mit vollständig neuen Modellierungsstrategien möglich, die von dem heutigen Modellierungsparadigma mit ebenen und horizontal ausgerichteten Schichten abweichen.

Technologie

Durch neue und innovative Modellaufbaustrategie wird die Modellierung in der additive Fertigung (3D-Druck) mit freigeformten Modellierungsschichten zum Modellaufbau ermöglicht. Hierzu wird eine Planungssoftware entwickelt, die vergleichbar zu konventionellen Slicingprogrammen die Prozessbahnen berechnet, allerdings unter Berücksichtigung der mit dem System möglichen Orientierung des Prozesskopfes durch den Roboter. Mit der Entwicklung entsprechender Modellierungsstrategien ist die Modellierung von Bauteilen mit Überhängen möglich, die ohne die sonst erforderlichen Stützstrukturen hergestellt werden können. Darüber hinaus kann Material auf vorhandene, freigeformte Oberflächen aufgetragen werden sowie die Strangrichtung beeinflusst werden, um beispielsweise die Festigkeit von Bauteilen zu erhöhen.
Das Verfahren bietet folgende wesentliche Vorteile, wodurch die Einsatzchancen additiver Fertigungsverfahren in industriellen Produktionsprozessen erhöht werden:

  • Verkürzung von Planungsprozess und Bauzeit
  • Einsparung von Fertigungsmaterialien
  • Keine Nachbearbeitung zur Entfernung der Stützstrukturen
  • Anfügen von Material an bestehende Oberflächen
  • Beeinflussung der Strangrichtung beim Modellaufbau
  • Flexibler und großer Bauraum entsprechend des Arbeitsbereichs des Roboters

Messeauftritte

Rapid.Tech 2018

Knapp 5.000 Gäste informierten sich in der Messe Erfurt auf der Rapid.Tech im Juni 2018 über Innovationen im industriellen und kreativen 3D-Druck. Unter den Aussteller war auch ein Stand des Projektes Free-D Printing des Lehstuhls für Produktionssysteme der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

formnext 2018

Während der vier Messetage war die Formnext 2018 der Leitstern des weltweiten Additive Manufacturing und der modernen Produktionstechnologien. Mit 632 Ausstellern aus 32 Nationen verzeichnete die Formnext 2018 auch hier ein Rekordergebnis. Mit dabei war ein Gemeinschaftstand von Ruhrsource, ThinkIng und Free-D Printing, organisiert von der Wirtschaftsentwicklung Bochum.

formnext 2019

Besuchen Sie uns auf der formnext 2019 vom 19.-22.11.2019 in Frankfurt am Main.

Auszeichnungen

Erfinderpreis 2017

Im Rahmen der Erfinderpreisverleihung der Ruhr-Universität Bochum wurden drei Erfindungsmeldungen des Jahres 2016 ausgezeichnet. Darunter auch die Erfindungsmeldung „Stützmaterialoses mehrachsiges Extrusionsverfahren zur additiven Fertigung“ von Benjamin Johnen, Michael Rieger und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Kuhlenkötter.

Newsbeitrag der Ruhr-Universität Bochum vom 20. November 2017

ERCIS Launch Pad 2017

Beim 10. ERCIS Launch Pad konnte Free-D Printing des Preis für das Geschäftskonzept mit der besten wissenschaftlichen Fundierung gewinnen, der von Forschern der WWU Münster gemeinsam mit der Jury bewertet und verliehen wurde.

ERCIS Launch Pad 2017 Website

Team

Dipl.-Ing. Michael Rieger

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
am Lehrstuhl für Produktionssysteme
der Ruhr-Universität Bochum
(+49)234-32 24568

Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Inf. Benjamin Johnen

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
am Lehrstuhl für Produktionssysteme
der Ruhr-Universität Bochum
(+49)234-32 24592

Förderung

Kontakt

ADRESSE
RUHR-UNIVERSITÄT BOCHUM
Fakultät für Maschinenbau
Lehrstuhl für Produktionssysteme
Gebäude IC 02/741
Universitätsstr. 150
44801 Bochum

E-MAIL
mail@freedprinting.de